Holidays and Closings


All locations (unless so noted) of the Memphis Public Libraries will be closed the following days:

2020 Closings

  • New Years Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Birthday: Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 17, 2020
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial (Observed): Friday, April 3, 2020
  • Good Friday: Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Easter Sunday: Sunday, April 12, 2020
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Independence Day (Observed): Friday, July 3, 2020
  • Independence Day: Saturday, July 4, 2020
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 7, 2020
  • Staff Development Day: Friday, October 4, 2019
  • Veterans’ Day: Wednesday, November 11, 2020
  • Early Closing: Wednesday, November 25, 2020 (all locations will close at 6pm)
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 26, 2020
  • Day after Thanksgiving: Friday, November 27, 2020
  • Christmas Eve: Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • Christmas Day: Friday, December 25, 2020
  • Early Closing: Thursday, December 31, 2020 (all locations will close at 6pm)
  • New Year’s Day: Friday, January 1, 2021