- ABOUT US
- DEPARTMENTS/COLLECTIONS
- LINC 211
- SUPPORT THE LIBRARY
- SERVICES
- MY ACCOUNT
- HELP / CONTACT
Home ›
Database Titles
This is a full list of the databases selected by the library. Titles provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library are indicated by TEL. Moving the mouse cursor over each title will display more information about that title. See below for various access requirements.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily. TEL
Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes: Commercial Appeal, The (1990 to current), Tennessee Newspapers, Major Metro Titles, America's News Magazines, The World, and United States.
Access World News - Remote Access
See previous entry for description. This link is for access outside of the library. It requires a MPLIC library card number
African American Almanac
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture. Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.
Alldata
Alldata is an online repair service for vehicles 1982 to present. It is ONLY available on three terminals in Benjamin L Hooks Central Library Business and Sciences Department on the 3rd floor. Ask at the Business Desk for availability or call the Business Desk at (901) 415-2734. ![]()
American Revolution Reference Library
American Revolution Reference Library is a 4-vol. set that supplies the in-depth information about the American Revolution that students and researchers need for class assignments and reports.
Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library can be used to find census, birth, marriage, death records and more.
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Provides an overview of Egypt, Mesopotamia, Iran/Persia, and the Arabian Peninsula, covering more than 4,000 years, from the Early Bronze Age to 325 B.C.E.
Animal Sciences
Animal Sciences provides a wide range of scientific, historical and cultural information about the animal world. Covers careers in the animal sciences in addition to biological concepts, the history of zoology, biographies of scientists, and ethical issues such as the practice of animal experimentation. Includes illustrations, sidebars, charts, a glossary, bibliographies, filmographies and the addresses of institutions devoted to the protection and study of wild and domesticated animals.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Biology
Biology explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science. Discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and addresses ethical issues. Provides information on careers in biology and contains color illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary.
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.
Books and Authors
Books & Authors - Stuck on the question of "what do I read next"? Let Books and Authors spice up your summer reading with our expert title recommendations, online reading rooms, librarian favorite lists, and more.TEL
Business Insights Essentials
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Featuring the content you need to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, and industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.TEL
Career Transitions
Career Transitions provides help in finding jobs, resume preparation, cover letters and tips and advice. Interview practice is also to be found there. The service also assists with choosing careers, matching your background with careers, and how to find schools and programs related to your choce.TEL
Chemical Elements: From Carbon to Krypton
Provides in-depth information on 112 known chemical elements. For younger and middle school students, but also appropriate for high school students.
Cities of the United States
In four volumes, this reference book brings together a wide range of hard-to-locate data to answer questions concerning American cities. Each volume focuses on a different geographic region: South, West, Midwest and Northeast. Each volume covers the area's largest or fastest-growing cities, or those with a particular historical, political, industrial or commercial significance.
Climate Change in Context
Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change, including the impact of climate change on daily life, trade and commerce, travel, and the future of both industrialized and impoverished nations. Provides insights on leading social issues and spurs critical thinking about the impact of environmental issues on daily life and globalization.
Commercial Appeal - 2000 to 2012
Commercial Appeal, owned by Cincinnati-based E.W. Scripps Co., is the only major daily and Sunday newspaper for the Memphis metropolitan area. It accessible here via the Gale Powersearch interface which provides various personalization and research features. TEL
Commercial Appeal - 1990 to present
Commercial Appeal, owned by Cincinnati-based E.W. Scripps Co., is the only major daily and Sunday newspaper for the Memphis metropolitan area. Available within MPLIC libraries or remotely using a MPLIC library card, this provides access using the NewsBank front end that supports searching, printing and offers basic email, print and export of results function.
Community Resources Database
Community Resources Database by 2-1-1 LINC has the most comprehensive database of human service resources in the area. It is continuously updated by the Memphis Public Library & Information Center.
Computer Database
Computer Database - Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. TEL
Contemporary Black Biography
Contemporary Black Biography - Provides informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields. Holdings start with volume 81, published in 2010. TEL
Contemporary Musicians
Provides biographical information on important figures in today's musical arena, covering artists working in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.
Countries and Their Cultures
Countries and Thier Cultures presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.
Dictionary of American History
Dictionary of American History - The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. TEL
Drugs and Controlled Substances
Drugs and Controlled Substances - This single-volume resource provides detailed information on the physiological and psychological effects of addictive drugs and substances, from illegal drugs to commonly abused classes of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Arranged alphabetically by drug name, each entry follows a standard format, allowing researchers to easily find the information they need and also to facilitate comparison between drugs.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Covers the history of Native Americans, ranging from human origins to present-day controversies.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Encyclopedia of Buddhism - This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Encyclopedia of Education
Encyclopedia of Education offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture is a three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of Popular Culture includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Encyclopedia of Small Business - This convenient and exhaustive 2-vol. print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning, human resource issues and more.
Environmental Encyclopedia
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP - From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. Delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher.TEL
The Gale Directory Library
This a searchable directory of contemporary business organizations that includes the following four resources; Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Brands and their Companies/ Companies and their Brands.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - The encyclopedia identifies 150 types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. For the practitioner or interested patient, there are current training requirements, listings of organizations, as well as descriptions of treatments..
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer - Includes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law - This encyclopedia fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders - Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - This books contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health - Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery - Written especially for patients and allied healthcare students by experts in the field, the Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery provides in-depth coverage of approximately 450 surgical procedures and related topics, such as anesthetics, medications and postoperative care. Entries for surgical procedures follow a consistent format, covering definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History - Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Always open. Always available. With electronic reference books from Gale and our publishing partners, researchers can instantly access thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject. These trusted, authoritative reference works are available 24/7 through our state-of-the-art Gale Virtual Reference Library platform, providing an unprecedented combination of functionality and features.TEL
General Business File ASAP
General Business File ASAP - Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics, and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals, and company directory listings with full text and images available. TEL
General Reference Center Gold
General Reference Center Gold - General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more..TEL
General Science Collection
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. TEL
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature
Contains entries on Asian American literature, including writers, special topics, events, and terms. Covers literature by North American writers of Asian descent from the late 1890s to 2007, within a variety of contexts.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
Entries cover individual writers, themes, concepts, genres, historical events and topics, movements, associations and organizations, ethnic and national literatures, and publishers and magazines.
Harlem Renaissance 2001
Harlem Renaissance - This authoritative resource presents the people, places and times that defined an era and documents the launch of cultural development among African Americans in 1920s Harlem. This single volume contains almanac and biographies sections with primary source documents in sidebars throughout.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. The Health & Wellness Resource Center features a fully updated, intuitive interface -- providing multiple pathways to key information. TEL
Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic - Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.TEL
HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online - This service provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Beginning or professional genealogists can now use this powerful online library, with original page images for all documents, from the convenience of their home or at the library. Indexes and original page images mean no additional trips, inter-library loan requests or work by researchers or staff.TEL
History and Genealogy Index, aka Death Records
History and Genealogy Index - Contains: Memphis/Shelby County Death Index (1848-1945), This index to identifiable deaths recorded within Memphis and Shelby County was created from the Memphis Death Register Books beginning in 1848; Memphis Burial Permits, 1902-1913; and Memphis/Shelby County Death Certificate Card Index, 1914-1945. The index also includes the Freedmen's Bureau Marriage Index (1864-1865) which is an index to the marriage records of African-Americans kept by the Memphis Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. It includes the groom's surname, given name, age, military unit, the bride's surname, given name, age, date, volume and page. The Index also features the Yellow Fever Deaths Index (1878) prepared by Mary Louise Nazor this is an index of all identified Memphians who died in the 1878 Yellow Fever Epidemic. Entries include the death date, full name, race and address.
History in Dispute
Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.
Information Science & Library Issues Collection
This collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers - from the research specialist to the information architect - will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. TEL
Informe
Informe - Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. TEL
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Infotrac Custom Newspapers - A customized selection of newspapers selected by your institution powered by InfoTrac.TEL
InfoTrac OneFile
OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.TEL
InfoTrac Science
General Science Collection - A customized selection of journals selected by your institution powered by InfoTrac.
Insurance & Liability Collection
Protection of assets is a concern for all: from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. TEL
Junior Edition - K12
Junior Edition - Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers, and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.TEL
Junior Edition [ITWeb]
Junior Edition ITWEB - Designed for junior high and middle school students - features the magazine, journal, newspaper and reference titles most critical to their research and curriculum. Provides diverse perspectives and strong full-text coverage, this resource helps students find the answers they need to all their general reference questions. TEL
K12 Professional Collection
Professional Collection - A customized selection of journals selected by your institution powered by InfoTrac.TEL
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits - Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.TEL
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library - Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.TEL
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online - Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the scholarly materials of the Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's World, U.S., and English Authors Series. TEL
Mango Languages
Mango - Learn languages quickly and easily with the world's most powerful language software. Mango Languages allows you to learn even the most difficult languages from home. Home access requires a library card. ![]()
MARCIVE
MarciveWebDOCS - You can search for all United States government publications issued to federal depository libraries since 1976 using MarciveWeb DOCS. MarciveWeb DOCS is the World Wide Web version of Marcive’s Government Printing Office record database.
The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students
Covers an array of topics on the Middle Ages including daily life, art and architecture, science, religion, politics, women's issues, and more.
Military & Intelligence Database
Military & Intelligence Collection - Over 10 million articles (80% full-text) from more than 500 titles and basic reference materials. The content in this database is also part of InfoTrac One File. TEL
MyiLibrary
MyiLibrary - This is an electronic platform that offers library users access to some of the most topical and current e-books available today. Users can access a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online from any location. Users can search across many e-books or conduct searches within a particular e-book.
National Newspaper Index
National Newspaper Index - This service provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.TEL
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
NewsStand
Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. It includes the Commercial Appear from 1996 to 2012. ![]()
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
This authoritative, dynamic resource brings together the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated. ![]()
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.TEL
Popular Culture Collection
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. TEL
Powerspeak Languages
Whether you want to learn a language for travel, business, or personal enrichment, Powerspeak Languages is a breakthrough in online language learning. The highly engaging courses utilize an arsenal of progressive language learning methods. Powerspeak Languages is an entertaining and effective way to learn a new language. TEL
Professional Collection
Professional Collection is a custom selection of full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24 hour access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development. TEL
Rand McNally Classroom
Rand McNally Classroom - a teacher and student friendly easy to use website that is loaded with curriculum relevant maps, games, activities and teaching materials for K-12 classrooms. IT features online maps that can be printed and saved, authoritative, up-to-date content, content differentiated by skill level, standards based, and school and home accessible.
ReferenceUSA ![]()
ReferenceUSA - Provides quality information to help you:
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
Presents original scholarly biographies of notable Americans. Profiles careers and achievements as well as biographical data including family members; educational background; names of spouses and marriage and divorce dates; addresses of residences; and cause of death and place of burial. Scribner Writers Series
Small Business Collection
Small Business Resource Center
Southern Life
Southern Life contains nearly 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more. TEL Space Sciences
Space Sciences - From the history of space exploration to the future of "space business," this set offers a broad survey of the space sciences. Includes biographies of scientists and the space-related job market. Student Edition - K12
Student Edition [ITWeb]
Student Resource Center - Gold
Student Resources in Context
Tennessean
This newspaper is published in Nashville and provides news, communities, sports, business, entertainment, life, opinion, and obituaries.TEL
Tennessee Legal Forms
Tennessee Legal Forms - This service has the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
Tennessee Virtual Archive
Tennessee Virtual Archive - This is a program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. Our mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.TEL
Tennessee Landmark Documents
Tennessee's Landmark Documents - From King George’s Proclamation of 1763 to the earliest purchase of land from Native Americans to the first Constitutions of the State of Tennessee, these are among the most important records from our past. Significant milestones in the formation and early history of the state are presented here for the first time in digital form taken directly from the originals, with full transcription and accompanying historical text. These Landmark Documents are available for citizens and students to search, study, and download. TEL
The Twayne Authors Series
The Twayne Authors Series - Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. TEL
US History Collection
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. TEL
U*X*L American Decades 11v, 2003
UXL American Decades - This series covers 20th-century events and social history beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999, written expressly for middle school students. Each decade is covered in one volume. Topics for each decade include: Headline Makers, Topics in the News, Arts and Entertainment, Business and the Economy, Education, Government, Politics, and Law, Lifestyles and Social Trends, Medicine and Health, Science and Technology, and Sports.
U*X*L Encyclopedia of World Mythology
Entry topics include gods and goddesses; heroes and other key characters; motifs and global themes; major myths; and national or cultural mythologies. Coverage spans a diversity of cultures, including standard Greek/Roman entries as well as Native North and South American traditions, Norse mythology, Asian Pacific mythology, Judeo-Christian tradition, and Islamic and Hindu mythologies.
Vocation and Careers Collection
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. TEL
Volunteer Voices
Volunteer Voices - This is a statewide digital collection from Tennessee institutions. Our first project is "The Growth of Democracy in Tennessee: A Grass Roots Approach to Volunteer Voices," an IMLS National Leadership Grant.TEL
War and Terrorism Collection
A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science. TEL
WatchKnowLearn.org
WatchKnowLearn has indexed over 33,000+ educational videos, placing them into a directory of over 3,000 categories. The videos are available without any registration or fees to teachers in the classroom and to students at home 24/7. Users can dive into our innovative directory or search for videos by subject and age level. Video titles, descriptions, age level information, and ratings are all edited for usefulness. The Web site invites broad participation in a new kind of wiki system, guided by teachers.
Water; Science and Issues
Water: Science and Issues - This set covers all important water science concepts and current issues and highlights major historical developments and key figures. 4 volumes.
Witchcraft in America 2001
Witchcraft in America - This fascinating and informative source covers the history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that facilitated the witch hunts during the colonial period to modern day followers of Wicca.
World Book
World Book - The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.TEL
World History Collection
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. TEL
World of Earth Science
World of Earth Science - This is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues relating to topics in earth science. World of Earth Science's encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings and is written in easy to understand language.
World War II Reference Library
World War II Reference Library - Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.
Back Click here to select last tab Forward
Access Requirements
The
symbol means that database cannot be accessed outside of the library.
The
symbol means a library card number is required.
In addition a few services may require a username and password to access. For security purposes these may not be displayed here. Call or email to ask for access information to specific services.
What's New @ Your Memphis Public Library & Information Center
Databases @ Your Library
Learn how TEL helps provide database access... --MORE->
2013 BOOKSTORE SALES
- April 6-12
- Media
- April 20-26
- Sci-Fi
- Apr 27-May 3
- Mystery
- May 10 & 11
- MAY SALE
- May 13-24
- Fiction
- May 25-31
- Health & Fitness
- June 1-14
- Summer Reading
- June 15-28
- Children's Books
- July 6-12
- Cookbooks
- June 13-26
- Back to School
- June 27- Aug 2
- Media
- Aug 3-9
- Parenting
- Aug 10-17
- Mystery
- Aug 24-31
- Romance
- Sept 7-14
- Religion
- Sept 21-28
- Fiction
- Oct 5-11
- Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Horror
- Oct 12-18
- Cookbook
- Oct 25-26
- Fall Book Sale Oct 25-26
- Nov. 2-15
- Children
- Nov. 16- Dec.21
- Christmas
FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY BOOKSALES
NEWS MEDIA CONTACT:
Stephanie White
stephanie.white@memphistn.gov
Bring your gently used books to the nearest Memphis Public Library & Information Center location. Proceeds from Friends of the Library book sales benefit the Memphis Public Library & Information Center.








