Library Book Clubs


Library Book Clubs

Book Clubs are where you can meet to discuss book selections (both fiction and nonfiction) with other people, and at the end of each meeting, determine the next month’s book selection.

If you are looking to start your own book club, the library can help:

Or, join one of the many book clubs at various library locations and meeting times.  Below is a list of book clubs that typically meet at our libraries.  For more information, including current book selections, please see our Events Calendar.


Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library

Central Readers Club

  • Meeting Time: 6:30 PM – 8:00 PM; 2nd Monday of each month.  Lobby level, Room L-56
  • Contact: Josh Thomas – (901) 415-2726 or (901) 415-2729; joshua.thomas@memphistn.gov

Central Library Daytime Books & Beyond Book Club

  • Description: Books and Beyond features an author/speaker one month and reads and discusses a selected book (both fiction and non-fiction) the next month.
  • Meeting Time: 10:15 AM – 12:00 NOON; 3rd Tuesday of each month (except July).
  • Contact: Wang-Ying Glasgow – (901) 415-2709; wang-ying.glasgow@memphistn.gov

I Read That Movie @ the Library (a page-to-screen book club)

  • Meeting Time: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM; Last Saturday of each month
  • Contact: Josh Thomas – (901) 415-2726; joshua.thomas@memphistn.gov

Bartlett Branch Library

Book Chat Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:00 PM; 3rd Tuesdays (mostly); Every other month.
  • Contact: Cathy Brooks – (901) 386-8968

Heart and Soul Book Club

  • Meeting Time: Please call for details.
  • Contact: (901) 386-8968

Cordova Branch Library

First Tuesday Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  12:30 PM, 1st Tuesday of each month
  • Contact: Eddie Fulton – (901) 415-2764; eddie.fulton@memphistn.gov

Homeschool Book Club (for Children)

  • Meeting Time:  10:30 AM, 2nd Tuesday of each month
  • Contact: Sharon Evrard – (901) 415-2764; sharon.evrard@memphistn.gov

Mystery Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  10:30 AM, 4th Tuesday of each month
  • Contact: Judy Teague; jteague01@comcast.net

Third Tuesday Book Club

  • Description:  Group run followed by a book discussion
  • Meeting Time:  12:00 NOON – 2:00 PM, 3rd Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact: Eddie Fulton – (901) 415-2764; eddie.fulton@memphistn.gov

NovelSpeak Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  1:00 PM – 3:00 PM, 2nd Thursday of even months of year
  • Meeting Time:  1:00 PM – 3:00 PM, 3rd Saturday of odd months of year
  • Contact:  Andrea King – (901) 415-2764; andrea.king@memphistn.gov

East Shelby Branch Library

East Shelby Book Lovers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:30 PM; 3rd Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact: Heather Remmert – (901) 681-8251; or call the East Shelby Library (901) 415-2767
  • Book Club Link: Join Microsoft Teams Meeting

Frayser Branch Library

Frayser Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM; 1st Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  (901) 415-2768


Gaston Park Branch Library

Gaston Park Library’s African-American Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Pam Madden – (901) 415-2769; pamela.madden@memphistn.gov

Levi Branch Library

Levi Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  3:00 PM – 5:00 PM; 4th Friday of each month.
  • Contact:  Shirley Rice – (901) 415-2773; shirley.rice@memphistn.gov

North Branch Library

Wealth of Knowledge Women’s Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  10:30 AM – 12:30 PM; 4th Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Vanessa Luellen – (901) 415-2775; vanessa.luellen@memphistn.gov

Renaissance Men’s Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Johnnie Mosley – (901) 415-2775; johnnie.mosley@memphistn.gov

Officer Geoffrey Redd Library

BookTok Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 3:00 PM; Last Tuesday of every month
  • Contact:  Beth Thorne (901) 415-2777; elizabeth.thorne@memphistn.gov

Parkway Village Branch Library

Parkway Village Library Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  Meets monthly; dates to be determined
  • Contact:  Susan Berry – (901) 415-2776; pkyref@memphistn.gov

Raleigh Branch Library

Raleigh Readers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM; 2nd Thursday of each month.
  • Contact: Shelby Loveland – (901) 415-2778; shelby.loveland1@memphistn.gov

Randolph Branch Library

Randolph Readers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM; 2nd Monday of each month.
  • Contact: (901) 415-2779

South Branch Library

South Branch Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 11:00 AM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact: Sharondra Hardrick – (901) 415-2773; sharondra.hardrick@memphistn.gov

Whitehaven Branch Library

Whitehaven Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM; 1st Saturday of each month.
  • Contact: Donna Windham – (901) 415-2781; donna.windham@memphistn.gov

Events

Ladies & Gentlemen of Distinction Book Club @ Levi
Levi Library
Fri., Feb. 23, 3:00 pm
North Women's Book Club
North Library
Sat., Feb. 24, 10:30 am
Advanced ESL Reading and Discussion Group
Cordova Library
Sat., Feb. 24, 2:00 pm
BookTok Book Club
Officer Geoffrey Redd Library
Tue., Feb. 27, 3:00 pm
Frayser Book Club
Frayser Library
Sat., Mar. 02, 12:00 pm
Advanced ESL Reading and Discussion Group
Cordova Library
Sat., Mar. 02, 2:00 pm
Homeschool Bookclub
Cordova Library
Tue., Mar. 05, 12:30 pm
Author Showcase
Cordova Library
Thu., Mar. 07, 2:00 pm
Tween Book Club: Chat & Chew
East Shelby Library
Sat., Mar. 09, 1:00 pm
Celebrating Dr. Seuss' The Lorax
East Shelby Library
Sat., Mar. 09, 1:00 pm
Start Here Logo on top of the Memphis Public Libraries Logo

need a library card?

Apply online today. Learn more on our Start Here page.