Databases A to Z


ACCESS
Databases A to Z is a popular page that lists all of the research databases in order from A to Z.


all databases

(To browse resources by various topics, visit our Learn page HERE.)

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.


Agriculture (Gale Onefile)

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields.


Ancestry Library

Find census, birth, marriage, death records and more. For a limited time, Ancestry Library is available outside of the Library. Click the Access button for instructions on accessing Ancestry depending on if you are inside or outside the Library.


Books & Authors (Gale Literature)

Answer the age-old question, “What do I read next?” Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.


Business (Gale OneFile)

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.


Business Insights: Essentials

Find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.


Commercial Appeal (Newsbank)

NOTE: WE HAVE TEMPORARY ACCESS TO EXPANDED YEARS, 1894-TODAY! Search more than 30 years of Memphis and Tennessee history. Coverage from 1990 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition starting in 2018. Full-color image edition includes today’s current paper (select the Commercial Appeal image format starting in 2018, then select today’s date). Also, search obituaries by selecting Commercial Appeal Death Notices and Obituaries.

NOTE: Library Card required. Sign up for one online and use it immediately. More details HERE.


Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.


Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.


Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles.


daily memphian

Access the daily, online city newspaper free inside any library location.


Dig Memphis Digital Archives logo

dig memphis

Dig Memphis is the digital archive of the Memphis Public Library. showcasing many of the treasures found in the Memphis and Shelby County Room.


directory library (Gale)

Search, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories. Best for researchers and marketers. Includes:

  • Brands and Their Companies
  • Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
  • Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.


Driving Tests

Study for driving tests, motorcycle tests, and CDL tests. Take practice tests, obtain official manuals, and more.


Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.


Educator’s Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)

Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.


Elementary (Gale In Context)

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.


Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)

Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.


Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.


Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.


Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.


Gale eBooks

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.


Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)

Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts.


Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.


General OneFile (Gale OneFile)

Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.


Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.


Health and Wellness (Gale OneFile)

Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.


High School (Gale In Context)

Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.


High School Edition (Gale OneFile)

Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.


Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.


Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.


Information Science (Gale OneFile)

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.


Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.


Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)

Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations.


Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile)

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.


Legal Forms (Gale)

Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.

Password Required: Contact us HERE for information.


LitFinder (Gale Literature)

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.


Lynda.com

A premier online learning resource offering more than 3,400 courses covering technical skills, creative techniques, business strategies, personal finance, and more.

NOTE: Library Card required. Sign up for one online and use it immediately. More details HERE.


Middle School (Gale In Context)

Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.


Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.

new york times digital edition

Access the digital edition of The New York Times here. Available in Spanish and Chinese, too.


News (Gale OneFile)

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. Includes access to regional newspapers such as the Atlanta Journal-Constitution or St. Louis Post-Dispatch as well as The Times (London) and much more.


Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.


Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.


Peterson’s Career Prep (Gale Presents)

Learn about careers, receive personalized career recommendations, create resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.


Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale Presents)

Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, and use test prep eBooks.


Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.


Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.


Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile)

Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.


Psychology (Gale OneFile)

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.


ReferenceUSA

A comprehensive collection of databases and tools to help you start and run a business, connect to consumers, find a job and more. Databases include: 1) Businesses; 2) New Businesses; 3) Healthcare; 4) Historical Businesses; 5) Jobs and Internships; 6) Standard White Pages; 7) Consumer/Lifestyles; 8) New Movers and Homeowners

NOTE: Library Card required. Sign up for one online and use it immediately. More details HERE.


Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.


Science (Gale OneFile)

Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.


tennesseean

Access the current and historical Tennesseean newspaper.


Transparent Languages

Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining extensive courses and supplemental resources for over 100 languages, including English, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system.

More Info: hispanohablante: aprenda ingles | Getting Started Instructions | Video Tutorials | Mobile App Available


U.S. History (Gale OneFile)

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.


Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.


War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.


World Book Advanced

A powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, back in time articles, special reports and more.


World Book Early Learning

An interactive online learning environment where the youngest explorers have fun while immersed in content and tools that will prepare them for a successful educational journey!


World Book eBooks

Provides a robust library of titles to suit every need. From basic board books to the most famous classic novels, the easy-to-navigate shelves of eBooks hold exactly what every student needs to round out their learning. These eBooks do not require checking out and they are always available.


World Book Kids

Aimed at the lower elementary level. It provides thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia for increased comprehension. Includes age-appropriate resources, such as Important People, Science Projects, Webquests, and games.


World Book Student

Aimed at the upper elementary and middle school level. It includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, and research tools.


World History (Gale OneFile)

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.