Book Clubs


Book Clubs are where you can meet to discuss book selections (both fiction and nonfiction) with other people, and at the end of each meeting, determine the next month’s book selection.

If you are looking to start your own book club, the library can help:

Or, join one of the many book clubs at various library locations and meeting times.

Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library

Central Readers Club

  • Meeting Time: 6:30 PM – 8:00 PM; 2nd Monday of each month.  Lobby level, Room L-56
  • Contact: Alieo Jackson – (901) 415-2726 or (901) 415-2729; alieo.jackson@memphistn.gov

Central Library Daytime Books & Beyond Book Club

  • Description: Books and Beyond features an author/speaker one month and reads and discusses a selected book (both fiction and non-fiction) the next month.
  • Meeting Time: 10:15 AM – 12:00 NOON; 3rd Tuesday of each month (except July).
  • Contact: Wang-Ying Glasgow – (901) 415-2709; wang-ying.glasgow@memphistn.gov

Book Chat Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:00 PM; 3rd Thursday (mostly); Every other month.
  • Contact: Cathy Brooks – (901) 386-8968

Cordova Library’s First Tuesday Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  10:30 AM, 1st Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact:  Tajuana Fulton – (901) 415-2764; tajuana.fulton@memphistn.gov

Cordova Library’s Third Tuesday Book Club

  • Description:  Group run followed by a book discussion
  • Meeting Time:  12:00 NOON – 2:00 PM, 3rd Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact:  Tajuana Fulton – (901) 415-2764; tajuana.fulton@memphistn.gov

East Shelby Book Lovers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:30 PM; 3rd Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact: Alinda Norris – (662) 513-6685; or call the Easty Shelby Library (901) 415-2767

Frayser Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM; 1st Saturday of each month.
  • Contact: Teresa Brown – (901) 415-2768; teresa.brown@memphistn.gov

Gaston Park Library’s African-American Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Pam Madden – (901) 415-2769; pamela.madden@memphistn.gov

Levi Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Angela Adams – (901) 415-2773; angela.adams@memphistn.gov

North Branch Library

North Women’s Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 4th Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Karol Hogan – (901) 415-2775; karol.hogan@memphistn.gov

Onyxx Sport Readers’ Club

  • Meeting Time:  1:00 PM – 2:00 PM; 2nd Tuesday of each month.
  • Contact:  Johnnie Mosley – (901) 415-2775; johnnie.mosley@memphistn.gov

Renaissance Men’s Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact:  Johnnie Mosley – (901) 415-2775; johnnie.mosley@memphistn.gov

Parkway Village Library Book Club

  • Meeting Time:  2:00 PM – 4:00 PM; 3rd Wednesday of each month.
  • Contact:  Hollye Ferguson – (901) 415-2776; pkyref@memphistn.gov

Poplar-White Station Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 10:30 AM – 12:00 NOON; 4th Saturday of every other month.
  • Contact: Nakia Armstrong – (901) 415-2777; nakia.armstrong@memphistn.gov

Memoirs & More Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 12:00 NOON – 1:30 PM; Monthly (except December).
  • Contact: Juliet Douglas – (901) 415-2777; juliet.douglas@memphistn.gov

Raleigh Branch Library

Raleigh Readers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM; 2nd Thursday of each month.
  • Contact: Jessica Lockett – (901) 415-2778; jessica.lockett@memphistn.gov

Randolph Branch Library

Randolph Readers Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM; 2nd Monday of each month.
  • Contact: Amanda Hill – (901) 415-2799; amanda.hill@memphistn.gov

South Branch Library

South Branch Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 11:00 AM; 3rd Saturday of each month.
  • Contact: Sharondra Hardrick – (901) 415-2773; sharondra.hardrick@memphistn.gov

Whitehaven Book Club

  • Meeting Time: 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM; 1st Saturday of each month.
  • Contact: Donna Windham – (901) 415-2781; donna.windham@memphistn.gov
 For more information, see our Events Calendar.