Richard Wright Literary Awards

Memphis Public Libraries will hold the second Richard Wright Literary Awards during March 2024 celebrating and awarding local authors. If you would like to submit a nomination for your or someone else’s work in the various categories, please do so by the end of November.

Categories include fiction and nonfiction in various categories. Awards will also be given for best poetry, graphic novel, single work in an anthology, illustration, play, and critic. Work submitted have to be published between November 1, 2022 – November 1, 2023.

To be considered for the Richard Wright Literary Awards, nominations must meet each of the conditions below:

  • Live in Greater Memphis or from Greater Memphis. 
  • Submissions must be published (self, indie, hybrid, vanity, or traditional) between November 1, 2022 – November 1, 2023 
  • If nomination is from someone other than the author, author’s permission must be given.

NOTE: At least (3) print copies of the nominated title or one digital copy must be submitted within seven (7) days of submission to the following: 

ATTN: Jamie Griffin
Memphis Public Libraries
3030 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38111 

Or, email:

Nomination Form

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Name of Person Submitting the Nomination
Author's Name
Author's Street Address
If illustrated, please provide illustrator's name.
Publication Date