Informed Voter – U.S. Congress

U.S. Congress SealThe Federal legislative branch is the U.S. Congress and consists of a Senate and a House of Representatives.

The U.S. Senate is comprised of two Senators for each state, with a total of 50.

The U.S. House of Representatives is comprised of 435 members dispersed throughout the states based on population. Tennessee has 9 Representatives, with 2 Representatives with all or part of their district in Shelby County. District 9 resides solely within Shelby County. District 8 includes part of Shelby County and much of West Tennessee.


You have two Senators and one Representative.

The U.S. Senate page includes a drop-down at the top of the page for you to select your state.

The U.S. House of Representatives offers this Find Your Representative tool where you can enter your zip code and possibly your address to find your Representative. This will also include your district number.

area served

For the U.S. Senate, both Senators serve the entire state.

For the U.S. House of Representatives, once you locate your district number, the Shelby County Election Commission provides this map of the districts.

term limits

For the U.S. Senate, each Senator serves a 6 year term with no term limits.

For the U.S. House of Representatives, each Representative serves a 2 year term with no term limits.

next election

Senators serve 6 year terms. One seat was up for election in 2018.  Another is up for election in 2020.  Then the next will be 2024.

All Representatives have two year terms, so the next election is the 2020 election.

other links