Informed Voter – Tennessee General Assembly

The State of Tennessee’s Legislative branch is the Tennessee General Assembly and consists of a Senate and a House of Representatives.

The Tennessee State Senate is comprised of 33 districts, five of which include parts of Shelby County. These are 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33. District 32 also includes Tipton County, otherwise they reside solely in Shelby County.

The Tennessee House of Representatives is comprised of 99 districts, fourteen of which reside in Shelby County. These are 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 91, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99.


You have one Representative and one Senator. To find out who they are, visit the Find My Legislator page from the Tennessee General Assembly. You can enter your address and it will provide your Representative and Senator, along with the District number.

area served

Once you have your district numbers by using the Find my Legislator page, you can visit these pages to see detailed maps of your district:

term limits

State Senators serve a 4 year term. No limits.

State Representatives serve a 2 year term. No limits.

next election

For the State Senate, elections for odd numbered districts are held at the same time and elections for even numbered districts are held at the same time.

  • Odd numbered districts will hold elections in 2022, 2026, 2030, etc.
  • Even numbered districts will hold elections in 2024, 2028, 2032, etc.

For the State Representatives, the next election for all seats is in 2022.

other links